EXPO 2015 - Breathe.Austria
structural engineering, structural design
15065
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-15065,bridge-core-3.0.9,qode-quick-links-1.0,,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-29.8.1,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.13.0,vc_responsive,elementor-default,elementor-kit-18203

EXPO 2015 - Breathe.Austria

Austrian national pavilion EXPO 2015 in Milan
  • SUSTAINABILITY AWARD OF THE ITALIAN MINISTRY OF THE ENVIRONMENT
  • PRIZE OF THE MEDIA REPRESENTATIVES FOR THE BEST PAVILION

 

The pavilion of the Republic of Austria at EXPO 2015 brings a piece of Austria to Milan under the title "BREATHE.AUSTRIA". A protective shell surrounds an inner vegetation area, which houses a part of typical Austrian forest landscape with trees up to 12 m high on an area of approx. 560 m². In one hour, the forest produces as much oxygen as about 1,800 visitors need. Without air conditioning, the perceived temperature in the Austria Pavilion is about 5 ºC lower than in the surrounding area. A circumferential gallery with exhibition space is open to the interior and opens out into a multi-storey service area at the head end facing away from the entrance.

Due to the tight time frame and the limited logistical possibilities on the construction site of the Expo area, the 76 m long and approx. 15 m wide pavilion was constructed mainly from load-bearing cross laminated timber elements, which could be prefabricated in the factory and assembled in pieces on the construction site. The walls consist of 7.5 m high and 1.45 m wide cross laminated timber boards, which - depending on their position in the supporting structure - are fixed to the reinforced concrete slab in an articulated or rigid manner. The 2.8 m deep roofing is also formed from cross laminated timber boards and is rigidly connected to the wall elements.

The three-storey service section at the rear of the building has wooden ceilings facing the interior, which are designed as box sections and span the entire transverse direction of the building. The closed rooms at the rear are spanned by reinforced concrete ceilings and also clad with cross laminated timber panels as a facade construction.

 

PUBLICATIONS:

  • Building with wood 11/2016
  • Building technology 12/2016
  • GAM.12
client

Republic of Austria, represented by the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber

Our service

Structural design LP 1-6

architect

terrain: architects | landscape architects | landscape urbanism

Planning and construction

2013-2015

GFA

1865 m²

Photos

Simon Oberhofer

Category
special, building construction, wood, new building

Engelsmann Peters GmbH | Breathe Autria EXPO 2015
structural engineering, Tragwerksplanung
15065
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-15065,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-16.6,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.1,vc_responsive

EXPO 2015 – Breathe.Austria

Österreichischer Landespavillon EXPO 2015 in Milano
  • NACHHALTIGKEITSPREIS DES ITALIENISCHEN UMWELTMINISTERIUMS
  • PREIS DER MEDIENVERTRETER FÜR DEN BESTEN PAVILLON

 

Der Pavillon der Republik Österreich auf der EXPO 2015 bringt unter dem Titel „BREATHE.AUSTRIA“ ein Stück Österreich nach Mailand. Eine schützende Hülle umgibt einen inneren Vegetationsbereich, der auf einer Fläche von ca. 560 m² einen Teil typisch österreichischer Waldlandschaft mit bis zu 12 m hohen Bäumen beherbergt. Der Wald produziert in einer Stunde so viel Sauerstoff, wie etwa 1.800 Besucher benötigen. Ohne Klimaanlage ist die gefühlte Temperatur im Österreich-Pavillon um rund 5 ºC niedriger als in der Umgebung. Eine umlaufende Galerie mit Ausstellungsfläche ist zum Innenraum hin geöffnet und mündet auf der dem Eingang abgewandten Kopfseite in einen mehrgeschossigen Servicebereich.

Aufgrund des engen Zeitrahmens und der eingeschränkten logistischen Möglichkeiten auf der Baustelle des Expogeländes wurde der 76 m lange und ca. 15 m breite Pavillon überwiegend aus tragenden Brettsperrholz-Elementen konstruiert, die im Werk vorgefertigt und stückweise auf der Baustelle montiert werden konnten. Die Wände bestehen aus 7,5 m hohen und 1,45 m breiten Brettsperrholz-Platten, die – je nach Position im Tragwerk – gelenkig oder biegesteif auf der Stahlbetondecke fixiert sind. Die 2,8 m tiefe Überdachung wird ebenfalls aus Brettsperrholz-Platten gebildet und ist biegesteif mit den Wand-Elementen verbunden.

Der dreigeschossige Service-Teil im hinteren Bereich des Gebäudes besitzt zum Innenraum hin Holzdecken, die als Kastenquerschnitte ausgebildet sind und über die gesamte Gebäude-Querrichtung spannen. Die rückwärtigen geschlossenen Räume werden von Stahlbeton-Decken überspannt und ebenfalls mit Brettsperrholz-Platten als Fassadenkonstruktion verkleidet.

 

PUBLIKATIONEN:

  • Bauen mit Holz 11/2016
  • Bautechnik 12/2016
  • GAM.12
Bauherr

Republik Österreich, vertreten durch die Wirtschaftskammer Österreich

Unsere Leistung

Tragwerksplanung LP 1-6

Objektplanung

terrain: architects | landscape architects | landscape urbanism

Planung und Bau

2013-2015

BGF

1865 m²

Fotos

Simon Oberhofer

Kategorie
Besonderes, Hochbau, Holz, Neubau